310.507.7988 Menu

СУХОСТЬ ГЛАЗ

Сухость глаз – это термин для описания группы различных заболеваний и проблем, которые приводят к нарушению увлажнения и любрикации глаза. Этот синдром встречается чаще других и затрагивает 20% населения. Полного излечения на сегодня нет, но методы борьбы есть.

Dry Eye Treatment Los Angeles

симптомы

Симптомов «сухого глаза» довольно много, вот основные:

  • Ощущение жжения в глазах
  • Ощущение инородного тела в глазах
  • Выделения слизи
  • Повышенная раздражимость глаз от дыма и ветра
  • Усталость глаз после даже короткого чтения
  • Сензитивность к свету
  • Проблемы с ношением контактных линз
  • Помутнение зрения, усиливающееся к концу дня
Los Angeles Dry Eye Treatment Dry Eye Treatment
Dry Eye Causes Dry Eye Symptoms
Dry Eye Cures

причины

Опять же причины могут быть самые разные. Но обычно речь идет о следующих:

  • Возраст. Около 75% жалующихся – люди за 65.
  • Ношение контактных линз. Бывает, что и сухость глаз – причина проблем с линзами.
  • Гормональные изменения у женщин. Беременность, оральные контрацептивы, менопауза и т.д.
  • Лазерная коррекция зрения. Эта процедура часто приводит к временной сухости глаз.
  • Окружающая среда. Такие факторы, как ветреный или пустынный климат, кондиционер, дым, грязный воздух – ведут к данному синдрому.
  • Дисфункция мейбомиевой железы. Пациенты часто жалуются на жжение, раздражение, сухость и проблемы с контактными линзами. Точный диагноз поставит офтальмолог.
  • Условия работы. Пыльное и ветреное рабочее.
  • Лекарства. Многие препараты грешат провоцированием сухости глаз. Это могут быть обезболивающие, антигистамины, транквилизаторы, бета-блокаторы, оральные контрацептивы, диауретики, антидепрессанты.
  • Компьютер. Сидение у монитора часами напролет чревато редким морганием и в итоге сухостью глаз.
  • Болезни. Ряд заболеваний связан с хронической сухостью глаз. В числе прочих это синдром Сёгрена, базедова болезнь, диабет.
  • Дефицит витамина А. Это, так сказать, редкий дефицит, который связан с хронической нехваткой как самого этого витамина, так и бета-каротина. Куриная слепота и сухость глаз – обычно первые симптомы проблемы, которая может закончиться необратимой потерей зрения.

3 шага к избавлению от сухости глаз

  1. Назначьте встречу со специалистом по лечению сухости глаз в Benjamin Eye Institute
  2. Заполните опросник для нового пациента
  3. Ознакомьтесь с терминами, проблемами и симптомами

МЕТОДЫ ЛЕЧЕНИЯ СУХОСТИ ГЛАЗ

Restasis®

Это глазные капли, которые улучшают вашу естественную способность продуцировать слезы. Лекарство снижает хроническое воспаление, которое затрагивает железы, ответственные за выработку слез. Тем самым улучшается как количество, так и качество слез. Мы в Benjamin Eye Institute считаем Restasis золотым стандартом для лечения серьезных случаев обсуждаемого синдрома.

(OTC) глазные капли без рецепта

В Лос-Анджелесе капли, выдавамемые аптеками без рецепта, считаются приемлемыми. И хотя они могут смягчить симптомы и дать временное облегчение, более глубоких причин они не затрагивают. Д-р Бенджамин и его команда вместо этого советуют специальные капли, которые «заточены» специально против синдрома.

глазные капли AUTOLOGOUS SERUM

Сделанные из вашей сыворотки крови, эти капли продуцируют «слезный заменитель», который рассчитан конкретно для ваших глаз и содержит нужное количество питательных веществ, в которых нуждается глаз.

Xiidra

Одобренное Управлением по Контролю за Питанием и Лекарствами США (FDA), это средство оказывает эффект на симптомы сухого глаза в течение как минимум двух недель. Оно отличается безопасностью, хорошей переносимостью и, главное, высокой эффективностью в большинстве случаев.

Prokera

Это своего рода биологическая роговичная «повязка», также одобренная FDA для лечения ряда глазных болзеней, включая и сухость глаз. Она предназначена для восстановления роговичного эпителия и снижения воспаления, благодаря чему глаз начинает нормально продуцировать слезу.

ЛЕЧЕНИЕ «ПТЕРИГИЯ»

В отдельных случаях сухость глаз вызывается состоянием, известным как «глаз серфера» или «птеригий», который имеет место, когда розовая ткань наращивается на конъюнктиве, вызывая сильный дискомфорт и мешая зрению. Когда эту процедуру используют в Benjamin Eye Institute, то все делается без швов и косметических последствий, но при этом риск рецивида уменьшается.

LIPIFLOW®

Если выясняется, что сухость глаза вызвана блокированием желез, то этот метод – самый оптимальный. Он состоит в прямом «утеплении» желез, открывая их таким образом, чтобы продуцировалось нужное количество слезы. Это кабинетная процедура занимает около 12 минут и отличается высокой эффективностью. Исследования показали, что 79% пациентов имели заметное улучшение уже после одной процедуры с LipiFlow. Понадобятся ли вам дополнительные меры, зависит от состояния ваших глаз.

PUNCTAL PLUGS (затычки)

Если вы использовали капли или мази от сухости в прошлом, но без успеха, то д-р Бенджамин может прибегнуть к блокированию вашей puncta – системы дренажных каналов, через которые уходят ваши старые или, иначе говоря, лишние слезы, пока железы производят новые.

Read more

омега 3 рыбий жир и витамин А 3

Для лечения сухости глаз в Лос-Анджелесе в последнее время как среди врачей, так и среди пациентов обрели славу таблетки (капсулы) omega 3 fish oil. Многие страдающие сухостью глаз получают облегчение от пищевых добавок с этим элементом, как и от богатой им еды: грецких орехов, печени трески, масла примулы, рыбы холодных морей. Кроме того, д-р Бенджамин и его команда напоминают о важности витамина А в вашем рационе, поскольку он помогает выработке глазной влаги. Этот витамин содержится в темной зелени, желтых овощах и яйцах.

сухоСть глаз и аллергия

Тело, как известно, может реагировать на разные аллергены. Все индивидуально: у одного пыль вызовет аллергию, у другого нет. Реакция же может проявиться как зуд, покраснение глаз или повышенная слезливость. Бывает и более сильная реакция в виде опухания и покраснения век.

Обычно глаза реагируют на аллергены в воздухе – пыль, смог, перхоть животных, полынь и пр. Иногда косметика или глазные капли с антибиотиком также могут вызвать реакцию. Важно знать, что сухость глаз может усугубить аллергию. Глаз вырабатывает влагу, чтобы вымывать раздражители, но ирония подчас состоит в том, что излишняя влага – главный симптом сухости глаз. Однако если слез недостаточно, чтобы избавиться от аллергенов, то глаз испытывает еще больше проблем. Любрикативные капли часто рекомендуются для увеличения влаги. Но если такие капли неэффективны, то д-р Бенджамин может посоветовать описанные выше «затычки», позволяющие слезам дольше задерживаться в глазу.

Для облегчения синдрома сухости глаз, связанного с аллергией, самое лучшее – избегать триггеров. Но если не удалось, то такие глазные капли, как Optivar или Patanol, могут помочь облегчить зуд и покраснение. Средства по рецепту, к примеру, тот же Restasis, порой более эффективны. Безрецептурные антигистамины Claritin или Benadryl также могут быть хороши, но нужно помнить, что передозировка чревата зависимостью, так что желательно не переусердствовать.

See more

почему именно BENJAMIN EYE INSTITUTE?

Потому что д-р Артур Бенджамин и д-р Памела Голчет считаются одними из лучших специалистов Лос-Анджелеса в области сухости глаз. Через их опытыне руки прошли тысячи пациентов, которым здесь смогли помочь избавиться от этого дискомфорта. Кроме того, эти врачи компетентны в целом ряде офтальмологических процедур, таких как глаукома, лазерное лечение катаракты, традиционное лечение катаракты и LASIK.

назначьтЕ yвашу консультацию сегодня

Не страдайте ни одного лишнего дня от хронической сухости глаз.

Назначьте консультацию сегодня в Benjamin Eye Institute с тем, чтобы д-р Бенджамин или д-р Голчет определили ваше состояние и обеспечили безопасное, быстрое и эффективное лечение сухости глаз, в котором вы нуждаетесь.

ИЗБАВИТЬСЯ ОТ КАТАРАКТЫ? 310.507.7988

Orsi N., Google +

If you're thinking about LASIK surgery, don't even look further. Dr. Benjamin is the absolute best!! Couldn't be happier with his services.

elgordo123, City Search

Dr. Benjamin was so friendly that I can't wait until my next appointment! I DEFINITELY recommend him to anybody looking for a great ophthalmologist!

lolita987

Wow, what a huge difference a short 15 minutes makes! Having spent so much of my life helpless without my glasses and inconvenienced by an expensive contacts routine -- suddenly I could see, and with minimal down-time.

ПОЧИТАТЬ БОЛЬШЕ ОТЗЫВОВ Benjamin Eye Institute on Yelp

ЖИЗНЬ ПРЕКРАСНА.
СМОТРИ!

Contact Us

310.507.7988 Menu

Dry eye is a term used to describe a group of different diseases and conditions that result from inadequate wetting and lubrication of the eye. Dry eye syndrome is the most common of all eye disorders, affecting approximately 20% of the population. Currently, there is no cure for dry eye, although there are many treatments available.

Dry Eye Treatment Los Angeles

Symptoms

There are a number of symptoms associated with dry eye. Some of the most common ones include:

  • A stinging, burning sensation in your eyes
  • A sense of a foreign substance in your eyes
  • Stingy mucus in or around the eyes
  • Increased eye irritation from smoke or wind
  • Eye fatigue after short periods of reading
  • Sensitivity to light
  • Difficulty wearing contact lenses
  • Blurred vision, often worsening at the end of the day
Los Angeles Dry Eye Treatment Dry Eye Treatment
Dry Eye Causes Dry Eye Symptoms
Dry Eye Cures

Causes

Dry eye can be caused by a number of different underlying factors. Some of the leading causes of dry eye include:

  • Aging. About 75% of individuals over 65 suffer from dry eye
  • Contact lens wear. Dry eye is the leading cause of contact lens intolerance.
  • Hormonal changes in women. Pregnancy, oral contraceptives and menopause can all cause dry eye.
  • Laser vision correction procedure. This surgery often temporarily induces dry eye.
  • Environmental factors. Environmental factors like windy or desert climates, air conditioning, smoke and air pollution can all cause dry eye syndrome.
  • Meibomian gland dysfunction. Patients with this dysfunction typically present with symptoms of burning, irritation, dryness and trouble wearing their contacts. The diagnosis is made by inspection of the glands and their secretions.
  • Work environment. Dusty and windy work environments can be harmful to patients and may increase their chances of developing dry eye.
  • Medications. Many medications are associated with an increased incidence of dry eye. They include pain relievers, antihistamines, tranquilizers, oral contraceptives, beta blockers, diuretics and antidepressants.
  • Screen time. Sitting in front of the computer or tablet for hours on end may cause you to blink less, resulting in dry eyes.
  • Certain diseases. A number of diseases are linked to chronic dry eye. They include Sjogren’s Syndrome, Grave’s disease and diabetes, among others.
  • Vitamin A deficiency. This uncommon vitamin deficiency exists with chronic failure to eat sufficient amounts of vitamin A or beta-carotene. Night blindness and dry eye are the first symptoms, and they can eventually progress to total and irreversible blindness.

4 Steps to Freedom from Dry Eye

  1. Schedule appointment with a Los Angeles dry eye treatment specialist at Benjamin Eye Institute in Los Angeles
  2. Complete the new patient medical history questionnaire
  3. Familiarize yourself with terms, conditions, causes and symptoms

Dry eye treatment options

Restasis®

Restasis is a prescription eye drop that treats dry eye syndrome by increasing your natural ability to produce tears. The product works by reducing chronic inflammation that affects the lacrimal glands (the glands responsible for producing tears.) In this way, it improves both the quality and quantity of the tears your body is able to produce. At the Benjamin Eye Institute, we consider Restasis to be the gold standard for treating serious cases of dry eye.

Read more

(OTC) Over-the-counter eye drops

Over-the-counter eye drops are a very common dry eye treatment in Los Angeles. Although these drops are readily available and capable of soothing the eyes and providing temporary relief, they don’t actually treat the underlying dry eye problem. As such, Dr. Benjamin and his team instead recommend prescription drops designed specifically to improve dry eye syndrome.

Autologous Serum Eye Drops

Made from your own blood serum, these drops produce a tear substitute that is formulated specifically for your eyes and contains the crucial growth factors and nutrients that are normally found in healthy tears.

Xiidra

FDA-approved Xiidra is capable of treating the symptoms of dry eye disease in as little as two weeks. It’s the first available option in a new class of drugs called lymphocyte function-associated antigen 1 (LFA-1) antagonists. This drug is safe, well-tolerated and very effective in treating dry eye for most of our patients.

Prokera

Prokera is a biologic corneal bandage that is cleared by the FDA to treat a number of eye diseases, including dry eye. It is designed to restore a smooth corneal epithelium and reduce inflammation so that your eyes can produce tears normally.

Pterygium treatment

In some cases, dry eye is caused by a condition known as “surfer’s eye,” or pterygium, which occurs when pink tissue grows on the conjunctiva. When the growth causes severe discomfort or interferes with your ability to see normally, an outpatient procedure may be recommended. When performed at the Benjamin Eye Institute, the surgery will be performed without sutures and using amnio grafts to ensure an optimal cosmetic outcome and a reduced risk of a recurrence.

LipiFlow®

If it is determined that blocked glands are causing your dry eye syndrome, the LipiFlow Thermal Pulsation System may offer an ideal solution. The treatment works by directing warmth to your blocked glands, opening them up so your body can resume producing tear film oil. This in-office procedure takes approximately 12 minutes and is highly effective. In a clinical study, 79 percent of patients experienced an overall improvement in their dry eye symptoms after a single treatment with LipiFlow. Depending on the severity of your dry eye symptoms, you may require additional treatments moving forward to maintain these results.

Punctal Plugs

If you’ve used drops or ointments in the past and haven’t gotten relief from your dry eye condition, Dr. Benjamin may want to occlude (block) your puncta. Puncta are the drainage ducts that your old tears, or extra tears, can escape through while your glands are making new ones. In each of your eyes, there is one punctum in the top eyelid and another on the bottom eyelid, at the corner of the eye that is towards your nose. About 80% of the tears drain from the lower, 20% from the upper puncta. Punctal plugs do exactly what they sound like: they stop the drains, just like the plug in your kitchen sink. Punctal plugs are made of very soft flexible silicone, similar to the material used in contact lenses.

Read more

Omega 3 Fish Oil and Vitamin A

Gaining popularity among medical doctors and their patients are vitamins and omega 3 fish oil pills for the treatment of dry eye in Los Angeles. Many patients are able to find relief from their dry eye syndrome by supplementing their diet with foods that are rich in omega 3 fatty acids, such as walnuts, cod liver oil, primrose oil and cold-water fish. Additionally, Dr. Benjamin and his team stress the importance of getting enough vitamin A through your diet, as it helps to maintain proper eye moisture. This crucial vitamin can be found in dark green and yellow vegetables, and eggs.

Dry eye and allergies

The body reacts to certain allergens that it feels are harmful. For example, while dust may not affect you, it may trigger an allergic response in someone else. This response may be in the form of itchy, red or watery eyes. Sometimes stronger reactions to allergies – such as swollen, red eyelids – can occur.

Most eyes react to common airborne allergens, such as dust, smog, pet dander or pollen to name a few. Sometimes makeup or antibiotic eye drops may cause an allergic reaction. It is important to note that dry eyes can exacerbate allergies. The eye normally increases its production of tears in order to wash away irritants. Ironically enough, excessive tearing is a major symptom of dry eye. If there are not enough tears to wash away the allergens, the eye will experience even more irritation. Lubricating drops are often recommended to add extra moisture. However, if moisture drops are not sufficient, Dr. Benjamin may suggest punctal occlusion increase the amount of tears that remain in the eye.

To alleviate dry eye symptoms associated with allergies, it’s best to avoid triggers. Failing that, eye drops such as Optivar or Patanol can help alleviate itching and redness. Prescription dry eye therapy, such as Restasis, can also improve the condition. Antihistamines, such as Claritin or Benadryl are effective over-the-counter options. However, overuse of decongestants can create dependence so they should be used sparingly.

See more

Why choose the Benjamin Eye Institute for your Los Angeles dry eye treatment?

Dr. Arthur Benjamin and Dr. Pamela Golchet are considered to be leading authorities on dry eyes in Los Angeles. They have several years of experience and training in treating dry eyes patients and helping them overcome this discomforting condition. Additionally, they are skilled in a wide range of ophthalmologic procedures, including glaucoma treatments, laser cataract surgery, traditional cataract surgery and LASIK in Los Angeles.

Schedule your consultation today

Don’t suffer needlessly with chronically dry eyes.

Schedule a consultation today at the Benjamin Eye Institute in Los Angeles, and let either Dr. Benjamin or Dr. Golchet evaluate your condition and deliver the safe, quick and effective dry eye treatment you need.

Cataracts relief? 310.507.7988

Orsi N., Google +

If you're thinking about LASIK surgery, don't even look further. Dr. Benjamin is the absolute best!! Couldn't be happier with his services.

elgordo123, City Search

Dr. Benjamin was so friendly that I can't wait until my next appointment! I DEFINITELY recommend him to anybody looking for a great ophthalmologist!

lolita987

Wow, what a huge difference a short 15 minutes makes! Having spent so much of my life helpless without my glasses and inconvenienced by an expensive contacts routine -- suddenly I could see, and with minimal down-time.

Read more testimonials Benjamin Eye Institute on Yelp

Life is beautiful.
See it clearly!

Contact Us