310.507.7988 Menu

Глаукома – это группа глазных заболеваний, которые постепенно крадут ваше зрение без всякого предупреждения. На ранних стадиях может вообще не быть симптомов! По оценкам экспертов, половина людей с глаукомой об этом даже не подозревает.

Полного излечения от глаукомы пока не существует. Однако лекарства или операция могут замедлить или даже предотвратить дальнейшую потерю зрения. Правильнй подход зависит от типа глаукомы и ряда факторов. Раннее обнаружение крайне важно.

Раньше думали, что главная причина, по которой повреждается глазной нерв, это высокое давление внутри глаза, называемое также интраокулярным. И хотя это действительно фактор риска, теперь мы знаем, что могут быть вовлечены и другие факторы, поскольку и люди с нормальным давлением порой страдают от глаукомы.

У взрослых глаукома делится на два вида: открытоугольную и закрытоугольную.

Glaucoma

открытоугольная глаукома

Это самый «популярный» вид глаукомы, затронувшей три миллиона американцев. Она случается, когда дренажные каналы глаза блокируются с ходом времени. Внутреннее давление глаза (интраокулярное) поднимается, потому что нужное количество влаги не покидает глаз. При открытоугольном варианте глаукомы входы в каналы могут быть нормальными, но блокировка происходит дальше, внутри каналов, подобно тому, как засоряется труба под раковиной в кухне. Зрительный нерв при этом медленно, но верно повреждается, что приводит к постепенной потере зрения. Оба глаза могут быть затронуты одновременно, хотя один обычно страдает больше другого. Иногда зрение ухудшается незаметно для человека.

Большинство людей не имеют никаких симптомов и даже намеков. Если этот вид глаукомы пропущен и никак не лечится, то может привести к постепенной потере зрения. Иногда тайный процесс длится годы. Но если, как сказано, поймать вовремя, то лекарства помогут.

Симптомы открытоугольной глаукомы

Единственный симптом, который вы скорее всего заметите, это потеря зрения. Но легко и не заметить, пока эта потеря не станет поистине серьезной, потому что менее затронутый глаз может компенсировать и тем самым маскировать проблему. Боковое (периферийное) зрение обычно повреждается до центрального.

Glaucoma Glaucoma
Glaucoma Glaucoma
Glaucoma

закрытоугольная глаукома

Этот вид менее «популярен» и составляет где-то 10% от всех случаев глаукомы в США. При закрытоугольной радужная оболочка и хрусталик блокируют движение жидкости между частями глаза, вызывая повышение давления, к тому же радужка начинает давить на дренажную систему глаза. Это может вызвать внезапное нарушение зрения, боль и красноту, обычно вначале в одном глазу; симптомы могут включать тошноту и рвоту.

Медикаменты помогают снизить интраоклуярное давление и предотвратить повреждение зрительного нерва.

Симптомы закрытоугольной глаукомы

Симптомы могут быть слабо выраженными и часто проскакивают незамеченными. Чаще они начинаются вечером и кончаются утром. Но симптомы могут быть и резкими, включая внезапно нарушенное зрение, сильную боль внутри или вокруг глаза, цветные ауры, красноту глаз, тошноту и рвоту.

Как один из ведущих специалистов по глаукоме в Лос-Анджелесе, д-р Бенджамин обеспечит вас наулучшим лечением. С его помощью пациенты с этой проблемой снова получают возможность радоваться жизни и видеть красоту мира. Д-р Бенджамин также признан одним из лучших хирургов Лос-Анджелеса в лазерной операции катаракты, LASIK, лечении сухого глаза и др.

ЛЕЧЕНИЕ ГЛАУКОМЫ

Специалисты в Benjamin Eye Institute предлагают несколько опций. В зависимости от вашего уникального случая, офтальмолог порекомендует наилучший вариант лечения. Опции таковы:

  • Селективная лазерная трабекулопластика (SLT). Эта операция использует лазер для снижения интраокулярного давления, вызванного глаукомой. Офтальмолог может выбрать SLT, если глазные капли оказались неэффективными, или же SLT может стать первоначальным решением проблемы.
  • Эндоскопическая ЦиклоФотокоагуляция (ECP). Многие пациенты с катарактой имеют в то же время и глаукому. ECP делается в ходе или после операции катаракты и существенно снижает или даже совсем исключает необходимость медикаментов против глаукомы.
  • Микрошунт (iStent). Это микроскопическое присобление может эффективно снизить внутриглазное давление, тем самым снижая и риск прогрессирования глаукомы. И в то же время iStent позволяет уменьшить зависимость от медикаментов.

назначьте дату консультации сегодня

Позвоните в BENJAMIN EYE INSTITUTE, чтобы назначить день проверки на глаукому по тел: 310.507.7988.

ИЗБАВИТЬСЯ ОТ КАТАРАКТЫ? 310.507.7988

Orsi N., Google +

If you're thinking about LASIK surgery, don't even look further. Dr. Benjamin is the absolute best!! Couldn't be happier with his services.

elgordo123, City Search

Dr. Benjamin was so friendly that I can't wait until my next appointment! I DEFINITELY recommend him to anybody looking for a great ophthalmologist!

lolita987

Wow, what a huge difference a short 15 minutes makes! Having spent so much of my life helpless without my glasses and inconvenienced by an expensive contacts routine -- suddenly I could see, and with minimal down-time.

ПОЧИТАТЬ БОЛЬШЕ ОТЗЫВОВ Benjamin Eye Institute on Yelp

ЖИЗНЬ ПРЕКРАСНА.
СМОТРИ!

Contact Us

310.507.7988 Menu

Glaucoma is a group of eye diseases that gradually steal sight without warning. In the early stages of the disease, there may be no symptoms. Experts estimate that half of the people affected by glaucoma may not know they have it.

There is no cure for glaucoma – yet. However, medication or surgery can slow or prevent further vision loss. The appropriate treatment depends upon the type of glaucoma among other factors. Early detection is vital to stopping the progress of the disease.

It was once thought that high pressure within the eye, also known as intraocular pressure or IOP, is the main cause of this optic nerve damage. Although IOP is clearly a risk factor, we now know that other factors must also be involved because even people with “normal” levels of pressure can experience vision loss from glaucoma.

Adult glaucoma falls into two categories – open angle glaucoma and closed angle glaucoma.

Glaucoma

Open Angle Glaucoma (OAG)

This is the most common form of glaucoma, affecting about three million Americans. It happens when the eye’s drainage canals become clogged over time. The inner eye pressure (also called intraocular pressure or IOP) rises because the correct amount of fluid can’t drain out of the eye. With open angle glaucoma, the entrances to the drainage canals are clear and should be working correctly. The clogging problem occurs further inside the drainage canals, similar to a clogged pipe below the drain in a sink. In open-angle glaucoma, the optic nerve is slowly damaged, usually causing gradual loss of vision. Both eyes can be affected at the same time, although one may be affected more than the other. Sometimes much of your eyesight can be affected before you notice a change.

Most people have no symptoms and no early warning signs. If open angle glaucoma is not diagnosed and treated, it can cause a gradual loss of vision. This type of glaucoma develops slowly and sometimes without noticeable sight loss for many years. It usually responds well to medication, especially if caught early and treated.

Symptoms of Open Angle Glaucoma

If you have open-angle glaucoma, the only symptom you are likely to notice is vision loss. You may not notice the vision loss until it is severe, because your less affected eye at first makes up for the loss. Side (peripheral) vision is usually lost before central vision.

Glaucoma Glaucoma
Glaucoma Glaucoma
Glaucoma

Closed Angle Glaucoma (CAG)

Closed-angle glaucoma is less common, accounting for about 10% of all glaucoma cases in the United States. In closed-angle glaucoma, the colored part of the eye (iris) and the lens block the movement of fluid between the chambers of the eye, causing pressure to build up and the iris to press on the drainage system (trabecular meshwork) of the eye. It may cause sudden blurred vision with pain and redness, usually in one eye first; symptoms may also include nausea and vomiting.

Typically medications are intended to reduce elevated intraocular pressure and prevent damage to the optic nerve.

Symptoms of Closed Angle Glaucoma

Symptoms of closed-angle glaucoma can be very mild, often going unnoticed. You may have short episodes of symptoms, often occurring in the evening and ending by morning. However, symptoms of closed-angle glaucoma can be severe, including sudden, severe blurring of vision; severe pain in or around the eye; colored halos around lights; eye redness; or nausea and vomiting.

As a leading Los Angeles glaucoma authority, Dr. Arthur Benjamin is able to provide top quality care and treatments to patients suffering from glaucoma. With his help, Los Angeles glaucoma patients are once again able to enjoy the comforts of life without this debilitating condition. Dr. Benjamin is also recognized as a top provider of laser cataract surgery, LASIK surgery and dry eyes treatments in Los Angeles.

Glaucoma Treatment

In treating glaucoma, the experts at the Benjamin Eye Institute offer several options. Depending on your unique case, your ophthalmologist will recommend which treatment he or she believes is the best option. Treatment options for glaucoma include:

  • SLT, or Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty. This surgery uses a laser to lower intraocular pressure caused by glaucoma. Ophthalmologists may opt for SLT when eye drop medications are not effective, or SLT may be used as initial treatment if advised by a professional.
  • ECP, or Endoscopic CycloPhotocoagulation. Many patients with cataracts have glaucoma as well. ECP is performed during or after cataract surgery, drastically reducing or even eliminating the need for patients to continue using glaucoma medication.
  • iStent. This device can effectively lower intraocular pressure, lowering risk for progressing glaucoma. As such, it will in turn reduce reliance upon glaucoma medication.

Schedule your consultation today

Call today to schedule your glaucoma exam at Benjamin Eye Institute at 310.507.7988.

Cataracts relief? 310.507.7988

УСТАЛИ ОТ КАТАРАКТЫ? 310.507.7988

Orsi N., Google +

If you're thinking about LASIK surgery, don't even look further. Dr. Benjamin is the absolute best!! Couldn't be happier with his services.

elgordo123, City Search

Dr. Benjamin was so friendly that I can't wait until my next appointment! I DEFINITELY recommend him to anybody looking for a great ophthalmologist!

lolita987

Wow, what a huge difference a short 15 minutes makes! Having spent so much of my life helpless without my glasses and inconvenienced by an expensive contacts routine -- suddenly I could see, and with minimal down-time.

Read more testimonials Benjamin Eye Institute on Yelp

Life is beautiful.
See it clearly!

Contact Us